Nintendo asks content creators not to co-stream its E3 2021 Direct


Platform holder will allow live reaction videos, but only if they do not contain any video or audio from the presentation

Nintendo has issued a request to all YouTubers, Twitch streamers and other content creators: don’t include this year’s big Direct in their broadcast.

The company posted a Japanese statement to its official Twitter account, spotted by Siliconera, although no such statement appears on its US, European or UK accounts at the time of writing.

According to Twitter and Google’s translation, the statement reads: “Please refrain from mirror distribution of Nintendo Direct video and audio during live distribution of Nintendo Direct. Simultaneous viewing distribution without mirror distribution is possible. After the live distribution of Nintendo Direct, you can post a video that handles the distributed video as long as the content complies with the guidelines.”

The statement has been published ahead of today’s E3 2021 Nintendo Direct, which will start at 9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 6pm CEST / 5pm BST.

The mention of “simultaneous viewing distribution without mirror distribution” suggests Nintendo expects streamers to broadcast only their live reactions, with no audio or video from the Direct. Footage from the Direct can be edited into videos after the presentation has finished.

However, guidelines Nintendo posted in 2018 — again, translated by Google — suggest content creators can only include video from games that have already been released and must get permission from third-party publishers to use material from their titles.

GamesIndustry.biz has contacted Nintendo for clarification and comment.





Source link

Share This Post:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Don’t Stop Here

Related Posts

Share Article:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore